The Steven Michael Smith Award for Valor

The OTOA wants to acknowledge tactically minded first responders who exhibit commitment, expertise, enthusiasm, and/or valorous actions.

Any person can nominate an individual or group who qualifies for recognition under the below criteria.

An awards committee selected by the OTOA board of directors will make the final decisions regarding the awards.

The Steven Michael Smith Award for Valor
This prestigious award is presented each year to the person, persons, or team who distinguish oneself or themselves through valorous actions during a life threatening action. 

A selection committee reviews a situation in which the nominated individual or group clearly acted without regard for his or her own life to save a fellow officer or an innocent victim or victims.


 All nominations must include the following:

  •     Officers Full Name.
  •     Department / Agency.
  •     SWAT Team assigned.
  •     Documentation of the event; Synopsis of the event in the body of an email or an atatched Word document.
  •     A contact person to verify the event, actions or conduct.

Email all nominations to:

Submission Deadline: May 15


You are here:About»The Steven Michael Smith Award for Valor

© 2012 Ohio Tactical Officers Association  - Promoting Professionalism in Policing since 1987 /  Site by C2